The week in review and the data for 07.25.2022

The Health Agency provides a summary of the week of July 18-24, 2022 with total cases for the week up at 19,536 (based on PCR tests only) or an increase of 33% from last week’s (July 11-17, 2022) 14,640 cases. Notice that the cases this week was a large shift to the provinces that are now seeing rising cases of COVID-19. This past week, the Philippines had a 7-day average of 2791 daily cases. Fifty six of the cases this past week were severe and critical while the deaths added this week was 42 (with none occurring from July 11-24).

Vaccination status showed that 91.6% of the target population is now vaccinated while 77.87% of the target A2 (senior citizens) group is covered.

Healthcare utilization in the country for non-ICU beds is at 26% (5804 of 22,331 available) and can be explained by the fact that the LGUs had already closed the isolation facilities or that some patients being admitted for other diagnosis or procedures are testing positive. This is up from 23.8% the previous week. ICU bed utilization is also up at 21.7% (578 of 2,664) compared to last week’s 18.3% (481 of 2630 available beds). The number of severe and critical admissions are at 666, or 8.7% of the total COVID-19 cases. This is up from 589 last week.

The Health Agency announces 2778 new cases and 11 deaths today. The positivity rate is reset as it is the start of the week and is at 11.6%. The NCR continued to dominate the numbers but accounted only for 34% of the cases (942).

Three LGUs in NCR had triple digits led by Quezon City 214, Makati 127, and Manila 105. Eleven had double digits: Parañaque 77, Taguig 76, Pasig 63, Las Piñas 56, Mandaluyong 49, Pasay City 40, Muntinlupa 36, Marikina 28, Caloocan 22, San Juan 21, and Valenzuela 15.

Outside of Mega Manila, Cavite was the province that took the lead in the country with 249 cases. Laguna had 169, Iloilo 127, Pampanga 115, Rizal 115, and Cebu 115. Provinces and HUCs with double digits were: Batangas 73, Quezon Province 35, Bulacan 89, Bataan 38, Nueva Ecija 42, Tarlac 34, Zambales 21, Negros Occidental 18, Aklan 10, Antique 16, Cagayan Province 29, Isabela 24, Nueva Vizcaya 13, Davao del Sur 48, Pangasinan 87, Ilocos Norte 16, Baguio City 46, Benguet 13, Abra 11, Cagayan de Oro City 15, Misamis Oriental 10, Camarines Sur 11, Albay 12, Zamboanga del Sur 28, Leyte 14, and Oriental Mindoro 13.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s